Thursday, May 14, 2015

BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH blog tour



THE BOYS OF ASH AND FIRE by Meaghan McIsaac
Official Blog Tour
Hosted by MMSAI Tours



ABOUT THE BOOK

THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH

Author: Meaghan McIsaac
Release Date: May 12th, 2015
Publisher: Delacote Books For Young Readers

SYNOPSIS:

Abandoned at birth, the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit know no mothers. They fend for themselves, each training their Little Brother to survive until they turn sixteen, when it’s their Leaving Day. No boy knows what’s beyond the forest. But when Urgle’s Little Brother, Cubby, is carried off by troll-like predators, Urgle and two of his Brothers embark on a quest to rescue him from a place from which no one has ever returned.

BOOK LINKS

GOODREADS | AMAZON | B&N | INDIEBOUND | KOBO



My Review
The Boys of Fire and Ash's mysterious and dystopian plot will mesmerize your imagination.
The Ikkuma boys raise themselves in a fire pit of a volcano.  As their history is passed down by word of mouth over the ages, the boys raise each other until they become of age for their Leaving Day.  Hopefully by this time, they have trained their little brother, so he will be prepared for his own little brother, and pass down their traditions.  What lies outside of the fiery pit, they don't know until their Leaving Day.  No one has ever returned.
Urgle feels inadequate has a big brother.  He is a horrible hunter, and feels like he is failing his little brother Cubby.  Bullied by his peers, and sometimes called Useless, Urgle will do anything to protect his little brother.  When Cubby is snatched by a monstrous beast who followed a stranger into the pit, Urgle vows to bring him home.
Life will never be the same.
Urgle, with a few friends, will forgo an adventure of a lifetime.  While Urgle tries to prove he is not worthless, useless, and afraid, he makes rash decisions and encounters danger at every turn in a world he knows nothing about.
How devastating is it that these mothers leave their new born sons to be raised by other children?  Unthinkable...until the truth comes out.
I was so excited to dive into this adventure. Like, jumping up and down excited!  I loved the world created, and the characters were amazing.  When the words disappear from the page, and you can visualize the surroundings, smell the aromas, and feel the river on your skin, that is a sure sign of an amazing read.  The imagination that went into creating this world gives me goosebumps.  I fell for these boys, their despair of being without parents, their loyalty to each other for survival, their complete innocence to the outside world...tons of emotions brew to the surface while engrossed in their reality.
With tons of adventure, twists and turns, I think this is a read that will truly attract the male audience, right along with the females. There is no romance in this story, just an awesome journey of coming of age, and finding the truth.  I seriously could rattle on forever about this novel, there is so much I want to say but that would so spoil the fun of enjoying the adventure yourself.
Get this book...read it...embrace it...lose yourself in the word...you won't be disappointed.





ABOUT THE AUTHOR


I write books for middle grade and young adult. I read them too. I used to draw a bit. When I was nine, I drew comics about a bird family who had a fuzzy orange caterpillar for a dog. They never ate him. After that, I gave a lot of embarrassing performances in my high school's musicals. I believe I stomped my foot when I messed up a line once. So I gave up on acting and decided to stick to telling stories. I packed up and left for the UK where I did my Master's in children's writing at the University of Winchester. Now I'm back in Toronto, reading and writing. I have one noisy beagle and one lab who doesn't stop eating. My first favourite book was Into the Land of Unicorns by Bruce Coville. I have since added a lot more favourites to my collection. They take up most of the living room.
TWITTER | WEBSITE

PRAISE FOR THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH

"McIsaac’s debut fantasy novel is fast-paced and heartstopping. . . . This self-contained story is an entertaining read that will be enjoyed by many."--School Library Journal 

"The novel is urgently gritty, with rich worldbuilding and plenty of action."-- Publishers Weekly 
"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus 

Fans of Rick Riordan and Anthony Horowitz will want to read this action-filled debut novel that offers a new world to enjoy and a new underdog to root for.--Booklist  

GIVEAWAY

5 Winners will each get a finished copy of THE BOYS OF FIRE AND ASH.
Ships in US Only. Must be 13+ To Enter


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment